North Dakota DUI Attorneys

join the ACLU

Timothy Purdon Attorney

107 West Main Avenue Ste. 150

Bismarck, ND 58501

Phone: (701) 222-4400

Kelly Armstrong Attorney

513 Elks Drive

Dickinson, ND 58601

Phone: (701) 483-8700

Herbel Law Firm

3333 East Broadway Avenue Ste. 1205

Bismarck, ND 58501

Phone: (701) 323-0123

Brian W Nelson

111 9th Street South

Fargo, ND 58103

Phone: (701) 237-4433

Cash H. Aaland

1024 3rd Avenue South

Fargo, ND 58103

Phone: (701) 232-7944

Johnston Dewayne Attorney

405 Bruce Avenue

Grand Forks, ND 58201

Phone: (701) 772-3085

Larivee & Light

520 Main Avenue

Fargo, ND 58103

Phone: (701) 232-4533

Justin Roness Attorney

107 West Main Avenue

Bismarck, ND 58501

Phone: (701) 222-4400

Getting a DUI in North Dakota

What to do if you are charged with driving under the influence in the state of North Dakota? The first thing should be to find a lawyer who specializes in DUI cases. Also make sure that the lawyer is from the county you got your DUI in. It’s very crucial to fine an appropriate lawyer fast, as time is very critical in cases related to DUIs.

Refusal of the BAC Test:

If you refuse to take the breath, blood or urine test then your license can be suspended for a whole year. Exception can be made for the first time offenders who have never been convicted of related charges. Refusal leads to instant suspension whether or not you were DUI.

What penalties do first time offenders have to face?

You are considered “DUI” if you are caught driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or more. And if your record is clear for the past seven years for DUI related charges, then you are eligible to be a first time offender. The penalties for first time offenders are as follow:

Offenders under the age of 21:

For people who are under 21 and are caught driving with a BAC of .02% or more there is a revocation of their license for six months where as refusing to take the BAC test will result in immediate suspension of the license for a whole year.

Fines:

Unlike Jail time there is a minimum amount of fine that needs to be paid. For the first time offenders this fine ranges from $250 to $1000.

Suspension of your driver’s license:

There will be a revocation period of your license for at least 91 days. This is the minimum (mandatory) revocation period if you are a first time offender and your BAC level was in between .08% and .17%. This revocation period increases to 180 days if your blood alcohol content exceeded .17%. The reinstatement fee for your driver’s license is $50.

Potential Jail Time:

There is no minimum mandatory imprisonment time for the first time offenders. It is very rare to receive a jail time unless you recorded a BAC level of .15% or higher.

Treatment:

The results from the alcohol assessment done to you are handed over to the judge and also to the Drivers License and Traffic Safety Division. Based on the results of the alcohol assessment and you may be ordered to undergo treatment. But for first time offenders there is no minimum mandatory time period for this treatment.

Issuing of Work Permit:

You may be issued a driving permit if ordered by the court. This permit allows you to drive to and from work and also drive to and from counseling programs ordered by the court.

Automobile Insurance:

If you are convicted of a DUI then your insurance rates might increase significantly. Also the insurance rates of your family members and even employer can increase.

Get Listed On The Tab!

get-listed-cta

Feel Free To Contact Us About Anything:

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)

Subject

Your Message